Question & Answer 1 – Logan February

Question 1

How do you
……..find yourself
…………….confronting
……………………your weaknesses?

I arrived with the dolphins,
……..floating
…………….unaided,
……………………held together by relief.

I embodied all those weaknesses,
……..locked my fears away
…………….with the paramedics
……………………burning all my bridges

-Hollis, F-

on the wrong side of the road.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 1

Let me be precise & say some burning
bridges are certain of their brilliance.

I’ve seen a spine shake its shadow
as though it were a blanket being tackled

with legs. Lighter fluid crawling over
each swell & dip, with a burn stalking the trail.

& so what, if the water under the bridge
starts to boil. Twist spine / contort.

A flurry of birds, evacuated. The immolation
keeping me bright, marvelous, then gone.

My weakness grows upon the engulfed spine,
so I cannot look it in the eyes. Which is to say

it has eyes / has ears / & a mouth, frothing
with boiled river. I become vapor / become

victim / never hearing anything / about fear.
So I arch neck / contort / go deaf for weeks.

The song stays banished & the smoke
keeps close & familiar.

– Logan February

