Question & Answer 3 – Carrie Adams

Question 3

We held snowflakes to our storm
and grew geraniums
in the corner of my mother’s
eyelids.

My story was not my brother’s
storm was not my storm was
not my brother’s story.

I pinch the dirt
with broken fingers,
swallow prazosin
to blow the soil away.

We lay our lives out
in photographs on the bedside table,
my whole life in a sandwich bag
in the drawer.

What do you keep
beside
your bed side?

I can count my victories
on the broken tills
hidden behind the ice cream freezer
in the cinema I left behind.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 3

A spider’s web of cottonwood vibrated
Our eyelids opened and closed
on the robin’s eggs cracking

I kept my regrets on the bedside
And turned my back to them
My body curled toward the window, the wind

We keep thinking we’re special
But I am the unmaking
Just like everyone else

A sweaty body stuck to the bus seat
A too long stare at people on the sidewalk
A confusion of passing between left and right

I too could swell full of ocean water
And wash up on a letter’s shore.

– Carrie Adams

