Question & Answer 6 – Amanda Lovelace

Question 6

I woke up,
made breakfast,
got my shit together for the day,
kissed my partner goodbye,
put my hands on our child
through a thick layer of belly,
and heard my alarm ring.

And then I woke up,
and I had dreamt it all,
and I smiled
because I knew
I could kiss her again
and feel our child kick
through that thick layer again.

I left
hoping to hear my alarm ring.

What moments do you
wish you could
relive,
dreamlike
and phantasmagorical?

– Aaron Kent

Answer 6

the grey-black
……………smoke
leaks from
……………the cracks
of my skull
……………when i try
to stir up
……………a happy moment
before all
……………this

……………(don’t take me back.)
……………(don’t take me back.)
……………(don’t take me back.)
……………(don’t take me back.)
……………(don’t take me back.)

&
the
only things
i’m left with are
the stained pages
& crooked dogears
& cold, sockless feet
& cracked summer windows
& a cat snoring at the foot of my bed
& a feeling like just waking up is an adventure.

– Amanda Lovelace

