Question & Answer 1 – Carrie Adams

Question 1

This nebula of petals,
this mint leaf tea planet,
this shimmer of libraries –
……..lock these scars
……..in the back of
……..an ambulance.

This arc from Antarctica
bloomed in crimson butter
flies the shape of Budapest –
……..and we are human
……..because we can see
……..art, ark and arcs.

Are we stardust or dead
skin cells? Believe in cardiac
arrests and police profiling –
……..the worst parts of
……..green and blue
……..exist in a vacuum.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 1

I like the tiny places.
Squeeze into, slough off
When you asked me to perch in the rain,
I thought robin, I thought cardinal,
I made wiry feet toward the puddle.

When I came back
and bent down toward the handprint
in the sidewalk, I saw how large
we had all become.

The concrete shimmers
with our past forgotten gum.
I don’t know how we make
these things up, ourselves over.

One day the train doors opened
and I made a little nook
between the strangers.

– Carrie Adams

