Question & Answer 4 – Daniel Roy Connelly

Question 4

Live commentary is acceptable
……..in certain social situations
such as ordering complicated coffees
……..or buying your weight in vinyl records.
I didn’t see Elvis on Sunset Boulevard
……..but I’m pretty sure I saw Nikki Sixx
trying to siphon the sunlight into his veins.
……..I have a heart too, and it screams
for a beating heart beating a beating heart.
……..If you’re heart is so dark, Dan,
then why don’t you paint it in bright colours?
……..Give it some life. Tell it to fuck off
in the early hours when the reverb
……..is caressing your pillow a bit too much
for sleep.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 4

BEGIN

Have I not given enough
Lux in Tenerife to colour
the drolleries of a FUCK OFF DAY?

……..Sick of the effort, tbh, soft heart,
……..ran the brushes down to stubble
……..trying to get the different colours to stick.

…………….So I took my heart and tagged it instead.
…………….Overnight, indecipherable squirls
…………….covered every invisible inch of me.

……………………Dark core’s emblazoned now, pal,
……………………might not even be mine anymore,

…………………………..like when out of the blue
…………………………..you meet someone you really like
…………………………..and they tell you they like you too.
…………………………..You don’t see that every day.

………………………………….Tear into the tub of salsa.
………………………………….Knead the finest Roman dough.
………………………………….Cherish nonna’s smoked scamorza.
………………………………….Raise a glass of prosecco.

…………………………………………I’m just kidding with you. I’ll refrain.

Remember that hole in my bucket?……..It’s all that’s left.

Nothing will come of nothing…………………………………………………Speak again.

– Daniel Roy Connelly

