Question & Answer 3 – Cheryl Quimba

Question 3

That halogen moon awakens me
reminds me that these words
are all I have left and you can have them.
You can keep them.

g/h/o/s/t

tear me apart and pull out something beautiful
something necessary. Do you ever want to be
rebuilt from the ground up? I am grit after a downpour
crimson leaves in the first week of autumn.

I am lost through the night with dreams of
greater men – they
all have podium finishes, they all glow in glorious
……..colours whilst I fail.
I am /failing/
/falling/
//drifting//
///empty///

geist. In spirit (l)on(e)ly.

Restart. Begin fresh. new.
Restart.
Re****t

– Aaron Kent

Answer 3

The person I was when I was reading Frankenstein
late at night, in bed, wondering
which parts of me must be monstrous
can I see them under the street light
Or listening to the market report while idling
I might never be thoroughly
good, or listening to a semi-stranger
tell me about his lower back pain, knowing
I am no longer the person I was
when I was reading Frankenstein,
No one talks about the function of the Arctic
in that story, how one creature followed another there,
how the cold was a stimulant and a balm,
how there was a man alone, on the ice,
Knowing I have days and days
that are bent, watching what could be
a fly on the baseboard or a movie about a boy
who seldom smiles, knowing I am
not the person I was when I was reading
Frankenstein, how could I be, listening to the hums
and whistles of an old-timer’s bar, the counter
cracked, the stools uneven, what a comfort I am
no longer the person I was when
I was reading Frankenstein I might have been
younger then or older or made of something
else entirely I was so much half-monster
or turning more mine, reading
those nights in bed I had notions of what
cold must have felt like to a man desperate to find
that I am no longer the person.

– Cheryl Quimba

