Question & Answer 4 – Mark Yakich

Question 4

Today
……..nobody showed up
……..to hear me tell them
I stole my script back,
tore the print from
the inside of a scope
……..I never believed in.
And for some reason
……..I expected these
……………………g
…………………………..h
……………………o
……………………s
……………………t
…………………………..s
to believe in me.
But how can you help
……..when nobody cares enough
……..to melt into your words?

– Aaron Kent

Answer 4

Even if I don’t like somebody, I think that somebody must like him or her so I try harder, but sometimes I think that if somebody else likes that person then I don’t have to.
I live on a one-way street.

*

I am an average chess player.
I prefer to hide than to seek.

*

I do not write books.
I dig holes and then, forgetting that I’ve made them, I fall.

*

Our son collects pebbles every chance he gets and cares for them as though they were pet bugs, but then when he finds bugs he mostly wants to chuck them as though they were pebbles.
I find golf a good way to ruin a long walk.

*

One Christmas Day, I challenged my dad to a game of chess and beat him, only later realizing that my winning was a terrible mistake.
I don’t know whether it’s better to cry in car parks than to hand feed the elderly.

*

I often feel closer to the things that humans make than to the humans who make them.
The diaries I have kept in my life are all stored in a plastic box with a flimsy lock.

– Mark Yakich

