Question & Answer 4 – Angela Topping

Question 4

I found my father fighting the miners
under the streetlights – shaped triangular
– shaped unwanted. He never blew
glass into clouds, toned down the mayhem
of his youth, or resented throwing batteries
at the heads of immigrants. These were
stories of pride, tales of the fights he won
as a small right-wing Acton kid. As if
shanking some kid is a prospective gold
medal……………………………………………[I’ve used this line before] [I’ve noted my repetition
……………………………………………………before] [What are we if we aren’t just the signals of
……………………………………………………our memories?] [Like a broken fucking record] [I’ve
……………………………………………………used that before too]

– Aaron Kent

Answer 4

A line or phrase from a forgotten draft
can be prized loose and hammered
into a different poem, like a stud
in an old oak door, or a gem
embedded into silver.

It may wander until it finds
a new place to exist, or be lost
like junk in a jumbled drawer.

Memory too. Polish and shine,
add new flourishes, build it up
till it’s bright and new.

But beware. Beware of chanting
the same spells too often
else they may lose their magic.

– Angela Topping

