Question & Answer 1 – Sarah Cave

Question 1

When I think of you
and remember past poetry performances,
I always think of polar bears
and
the
artic. Ice sheets progressing through harmonies
as they shrink under the feet
of crystal clear Fox’s glacier mints.
Why is this? Why would I associate
you with such imagery? Do you associate others
with ideas you can’t quite pinpoint?
I’ve no chords for you, but a freedom and space to
hear things falling softly into outer space.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 1

I am a seer in clown-costume, so the joke goes, and I befriend a polar bear playing an accordion
on the underground. We make our way to St Paul’s, there

she and I fall in love

somewhere between the Southbank and the City
both of us ex-patriots – our lands for sale – –

in the turning doors of the cathedral I weep
………………………………………..and the bear
…….well, the bear
she prays
in the Lady’s Chapel

incense is our unknown musk of ox

she pays the fee and says ‘everywhere is a city.’
I appropriate her sentience, lead her to the altar,

I am Honest John – a fox in man’s clothing –

I try to sacrifice her

to say something
………….about myself………………..she begs for alms
her paws reveal a poem that shows me all

our poems are untranslatable

a taut geometric web
of ice
that grows and melt

a chord structure

she lumbers up the aisles shredding the books of common prayer as she goes

I stroll – taking note – sketching her mad-bear outline

o, bear open thou my lips
and my mouth shall shew forth thy praise
o, bear make speed to save me

(cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises)
(cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises)
(cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises) (cutupprayersandbearnoises)

..I collect the words ………………. the triptych that falls between us………….in an empty bag
of Fox’s glacier mints.

– Sarah Cave

