Question & Answer 5 – Amanda Lovelace

Question 5

Imagine me dressed as Godzilla
drunk on fine wine.
That’s Saturday nights
……..– that’s how I waste
……..my
……..life.
Who sets the agen
……………………….da
……………………………and
why?
Imagine me watching Godzilla
sipping sleepy time tea.
That’s actually my nights
……..– that’s really how I waste
……..my
……..time.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 5

catch me
in bed
playing
with matches
surrounded by
the letters
i never sent
the monster-boy
who shares your
name.

catch me
lighting
…………blowing out
lighting
…………blowing out
lighting
…………b l o w i n g o u t
matches
surrounded by
the letters

i never sent    
i never sent    
i never sent    
i never sent    
i never sent    

catch me
eating those
flames
next to the
sleeping
cinnamon-boy
who
couldn’t save me
from him/myself/him/
………………………………myself.

(no one
ever
could have
& i know
he still
loves that
six years
one wife
one child-with-his-big-bad-wolf-smile
later.)

when
the smoke
wakes the
cinnamon-boy
he sits up
in bed
& eats fire
with me
& the letters
remain unharmed.

– who sets the agenda? who follows it anyway?

– Amanda Lovelace

