Question & Answer 3 – Amanda Lovelace

Question 3

I consider a pentagram on my arm
to exorcise the weight of the world
on my shoulders, pressed firmly
by the scale of my taatto’s lies.
Gold threaded embellishments
weave a journey into my eighteenth
birthday. There is an arc of light
in the corner of the room, the cat
stares, I stare, knowing I’m something
close to an adult now. When does it happen?
When do we phase over into maturity
and something resembling an adult? I still
don’t feel it. I was never adult enough
to hear of the noose he wanted
to put around his neck, but adult enough
to be fed those words anyway.

– Aaron Kent

Answer 3

I.

as an infant
i was

……………tiny
……………pink
……………helpless
……………frog-like

& my mother
changed my diaper
with duty & precision
& i would only guess a cigarette
haphazardly sandwiched between
two of her kitchen-manicured fingers

II.

as a middle-aged woman
my mother was

…………….tiny
…………….grey
…………….helpless
…………….dead-frog-like

& hours after
changing her diaper
with huffing & puffing & wet eyes
(i watched) through the bathroom window
as nameless&faceless strangers carried (her) out
to be (burn)ed

– (& i didn’t feel anything)

– Amanda Lovelace

