Question & Answer 2 – Eric Sigler

Question 2

I spent yesterday staring at sand and waiting
waiting waiting
waiting
for it to fill the bottom half
so I could stop talking

and start listening
listening listening
listening
to the other people begging for gold
to wrap around the broken

parts of their fragile
fragile fragile
fragile
memories where indecision has blurred
the lines between family

and all the reasons I still pikatrapp
pikatrapp pikatrapp
pikatrapp
and one day I will talk abut
the stairs, and one day I will break

tradition and not use cheap tricks
tricks tricks
tricks
to avoid the way my head still caves in. Do you understand
Eric? Do you know how to get out

of that repetition?

– Aaron Kent

Answer 2

Nirvana

I spent this morning
……………staring at the sea-
rolling, roiling, breaking,
while mermaids sang to me,
and in their chanting voices
……………………..oscillations
lifted me like feathers
…………………..lift the wind,
and minions of sea horses
………………….rode like stallions-
under, over, water-
………………in waves that have no end…

I spent this morning
………………..staring at the sun,
lighting lightning flashing
through all that I have done,
………………..through all the sadnesses
…………………….I have become-
a mermaid or a feather,
……………….a sea horse on the wind-
and as the hour passes,
………………..I’m derelict of sum,
a vapor in the aether,
sighing ‘singing words’ that have no end

– Eric Sigler

