Question & Answer 3 – Rupert Loydell

Question 3

…and there is peace
four thousand
one hundred
odd
miles away.

…but it is sinking
into the sand
and forgetting I
ever
called it a father.

Shiring
 
so I drown
with every rapid
eye movement,
para
somniac. Praying

…to be heard
four thousand
one hundred
odd
miles away.

Shearing
 
How far have
you gone to
make maps
and
burn bridges?

– Aaron Kent

Answer 3

Mostly, bridges
were burned
before me:
my father dying,
a friend in a car
crash, grandma
gone away.

The farthest
I’ve ever gone
was to here,
uprooting family
and leaving
a house I loved.

Hindsight is
a marvellous thing.

I write through
my worries,
make maps
with words
torn from
other pages,
assemble
instructions
for the future.

Foresight is
a wonderful thing.
(If only we’d
known back then.)

– Rupert Loydell

